2019 Shintaido of America Business Report

January 2019 to December 2019

Four SOA board meetings were held in March, June, September and December of 2019. The minutes are on the SOA website. One joint informational meeting of the SOA board members and SOA TC members was held December 2019.

The SOA board of directors is pleased to announce that Shintaido of America has received an anonymous donation in the memory of Joe Zawielski, General Instructor of Shintaido. This donation is specific in supporting SOA members who are Graduate/Shodan and above in attending international events to further their knowledge of Shintaido and teaching of Shintaido. This generous donation will total \$5000 over these next five years from 2019 to 2023.

In July 2019 a membership letter was sent to supporters of Shintaido of America. The list serve of MailChimp was used to send these electronic letters along with personal emails. SOA membership grew to 50 members for 2019 up from 40 members in 2018 and up from 17 members in 2017. National Liability coverage was renewed for 2020 and the tax report for 2018 was filed.

Rob Kedoin, SOA webmaster, in March of 2018 implemented changes for the SOA website to have it compatible with iPhone, tablets and with the current blog style newsletter. Rob generates quarterly reports for the SOA Board. The updates for 2019 include a "where to practice' page, Kenjutsu curriculum, Jissen Kumitachi, an Instagram account and installed translation support so that articles translated into French are now on the SOA website. There has been an 18% increase in viewing pages with these changes.

The SOA board approved a stipend for the consultation services of HF Ito for continued instruction and development of Shintaido Kenjutsu for 2019 & 2020. (see budget)

Planned dates for 2020 for the SOA Board are 22 March, and 21 June. Meetings will also be held in September and December. The SOA board held an electronic election in August 2019.

2019–2021 Elected members for two-year terms:

- Nancy Billias
- Connie Borden, President and Board Chair
- David Franklin
- Herve Hofstetter
- Brad Larson, Treasurer Permanent Members:
- Haruyoshi F. Ito
- Michael Thompson Officers (not elected):
- Shin Aoki, NTC Chairperson
- Stephen Billias concluding his position as Editor for Body Dialogue 30 Dec 2019
- Chris Ikeda-Nash, Financial Officer
- Robert Kedoin, Webmaster